The Rijksmuseum will reopen on April 13 in Amsterdam following a 10-year renovation overseen by Cruz y Ortiz Arquitectos. The Spanish architectural duo of Antonio Cruz and Antonio Ortiz was tasked with restoring architect Pierre Cuypers’ 1885 design while stripping the building of its later additions. The library, where Cuypers’ original layout and ornaments have mostly been maintained, serves as a symbol of preservation. Monumental ornaments also return to the Gallery of Honour, Front Hall, Night Watch Gallery, and stairwells. Cruz and Ortiz opened up two inner courtyard added in the post-war years to form a two-part atrium linked by a passageway.
New facilities respect the original architecture as well. Surrounded by water, the Asian Pavilion showcases a natural stone and glass façade that contrasts with the main building’s red bricks. Between Cuypers Villa and the Teekenschool in the garden, the architects placed a small new building that offers access to the museum via an underground passage.
The museum will house more than 8,000 works spanning 800 years of Dutch art and history. For more information on the transformation, visit www.rijksmuseum.nl.